[12 Test Answers] FEMA IS-1170: Introduction to the Interagency Security Committee (ISC)

Here are the FEMA test answers to IS-1170: Introduction to the Interagency Security Committee (ISC).

Overview: FEMA IS-1170 course was published on 8/21/2017 as the first course in the Interagency Security Committee (ISC) web-based training series. This course provides an overview of the history of the ISC, its mission and organization, and a basic outline of the ISC Risk Management Process (RMP).

Primary audience: FEMA IS-1170 is for federal facility security professionals, engineers, building owners, construction contractors, architects, general public

FEMA IS-1170 test answers

Each time this test is loaded, you will receive a unique set of questions and answers. The test questions are scrambled to protect the integrity of the exam.

Question 1. Who has the overall responsibility of day to day operations of ISC?
A. Primary Members
B. Operations Director✅
C. ISC Chair
D. ISC Program Director

Question 2. Based on DOJ recommendations following the bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah building in Oklahoma City in 1995, the President established the Interagency Security Committee by:
A. Issuing Executive Order 12977: Interagency Security Committee.✅
B. Signing into law the Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism (USE PATRIOT) Act.
C. Establishing Presidential Directive 7: Critical Infrastructure Identification, Prioritization, and Protection.
D. Directing the Secretary of Homeland Security to create it.

Question 3. What do the ISC standards apply to?
A. All facilities within the U.S.
B. Federal courthouses
C. All facilities in the U.S. occupied by Federal employees for nonmilitary activities.✅
D. Only facilities in the U.S. occupied by Federal employees for military activities

Question 4. How many steps are outlined in the ISC Risk Management Process?
A. Three
B. Twelve
C. Seven
D. Six✅

Question 5. Which of the following is not a responsibility of the ISC identified in Executive Order 12977?
A. Establish policies for security in and protection of Federal facilities
B. Provide technology and training initiatives.✅
C. Take necessary actions to enhance the quality and effectiveness of security and protection of Federal facilities
D. Develop and evaluate security standards and a strategy for ensuring compliance

Question 6. Which committee establishes a profile of the type, composition, and capabilities of our adversaries?
A. Convergence
B. Countermeasures
C. Design-Basis Threat✅
D. Steering

Question 7. What is the first step in the Risk Management Process?
A. Identify and assess risk✅
B. Determine Facility Security Level (FSL)
C. Identify Baseline Level of Protection (LOP)
D. Implement Customized Level of Protection (LOP)

Question 8. Which ISC subcommittee makes recommendations on and guides ISC priorities?
A. Technology Best Practices Subcommittee
B. Standards Subcommittee
C. Steering Subcommittee✅
D. Training Subcommittee

Question 9. ISC working groups can be established by:
A. The Chair
B. The Steering Subcommittee with Chair approval
C. Majority vote of the membership
D. All of the above✅

Question 10. The ISC Risk Management Process Standard applies to what types of facilities?
A. Only nonmilitary Federal facilities that are in the process of construction or modernization.
B. All existing, under construction or modernization, and leased nonmilitary Federal facilities✅
C. Only nonmilitary Federal facilities that are leased.
D. Only nonmilitary Federal facilities that are owned by the largest organization in the facility.

Question 11. Which ISC document focuses on a risk-based methodology and the mitigating security measures for a facility?
A. Executive Order 12977: Interagency Security Committee
B. Appendix B: Countermeasures Facility Security Level Determinations for Federal Facilities
C. Appendix A: The Design-Basis Threat Report
D. The Risk Management Process for Federal Facilities: An ISC Standard (RMP)✅

Question 12. What event precipitated the creation of the Interagency Security Committee?
A. The Cold War
B. The Oklahoma City Bombing✅
C. The September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks
D. The 1993 World Trade Center bombing

Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience Curriculum

Sector-specific courses

Foundational courses

Security awareness courses